top of page

Who we are

The Diocese of Durham is the Church of England from the River Tyne in the North; to the River Tees in the South; the Durham Dales in the West; and to the Sea in the East.


The Diocese of Durham is centred in historic City and County Durham, the City of Sunderland, the Metropolitan Districts of Gateshead & South Tyneside and also the boroughs of Darlington, Hartlepool, and of Stockton-on-Tees, north of the River Tees. The Diocese covers a geographic area of 2,530 square kilometres and serves a population of nearly 1.5 million.


The mission of the Diocese of Durham is to bless our communities in Jesus’ name for the transformation of us all. This will be achieved by focusing our energies on three priorities: Children & Young People; Poverty and Church Growth.


The mother church of the Diocese is Durham Cathedral which is a Unesco World Heritage site and is the Cathedra seat into which the Bishops of Durham are installed.


The Diocese is organised into 16 Deaneries grouped into three Archdeaconries (Sunderland, Durham & Auckland). The Diocese has 227 parishes, in 187 Benefices with 218 clergy providing mission and ministry in them.


Visit for more information.

Photo for More about Growing Faith link.
bottom of page